• eBulletins

Spring National Open Teams

Posted by Marcia Scudder on Monday, 24 October 2016 at 08:57

This year saw a record field of 62 teams contest the Open Teams.  After 9 rounds of Swiss, the combatants for the two semi-finals were determined.

MILNE (Liam Milne, Nye Griffiths, Andy Hung and Sartaj Hans}


MARKEY (Phil Markey, Ben Thompson, Howard Melbourne and Johnno Newman}


FLEISCHER (George Fleischer, Murray Green, Adam Edgtton, Alasdair Beck and Ron Speiser)


KANETKAR (Avi Kanetkar, Bruce Neill, Pauline Gumby and Warren Lazer)


After the 56 board semi-finals the outcomes were:

MILNE 144.8 defeated MARKEY 126 after a close match


KANETKAR 168 defeated FLEISCHER 55.1

The final would therefore be played between MILNE and KANETKAR.

The match was extremely close all the way, with the each team taking the lead by small margins at various times.  However, when the music stopped, the final result saw MILNE 139.3 victorious over KANETKAR 117



Nye Griffiths, Andy Hung, Liam Milne and Sartaj Hans       Avi Kanetkar, Bruce Neill, Pauline Gumby and Warren Lazer with

                                                                                         Paul Lavings                                 


Datum Winners

The winners of the Datum Medals for the Spring National Open Teams were Michael Cornell and Ashley Bach