
246. Starting block 
 
By Ron Klinger 
 
This was yesterday’s problem: 
 
Dealer East : North-South vulnerable 
 

West North East South 
  Pass 1♠ 
Pass 1NT Pass 2♣ 
2♦ 2♠ Pass 3♦ 
Pass 3♠ Pass 4♠ 
Pass Pass Pass  

 
What would you lead as West from: 
 
♠ A876 
♥ J6 
♦ AJ943 
♣ 73 

 
The deal arose in the final of a Sydney teams’ event in 2018: 
 
Dealer East : North-South vulnerable 
 

 North  
 ♠ 103  
 ♥ 8752  
 ♦ KQ106  
 ♣ J82  
West  East 
♠ A876  ♠ 95 
♥ J6  ♥ Q1093 
♦ AJ943  ♦ 872 
♣ 73  ♣ A1094 
 South  
 ♠ KQJ42  
 ♥ AK4  
 ♦ 5  
 ♣ KQ65  

 
You need a strong reason to lead an unsupported ace against a trump contract. There was some evidence in the 
auction above. South had shown a strong hand and 3♦ looked to be seeking a diamond stopper. North’s 3♠ was 
either showing no diamond stopper or a hand that was not strong enough to bid game. You have to ask yourself, 
‘Is that a strong enough basis for leading the ♦A?’ If you think not, then the ♥J would be your choice. That does 
not come with any guarantee of safety, but it would have worked on the actual deal. 
 
West actually led the ♦A and switched to the ♥J: two – three (low-like) – ace.  Declarer played the ♠2. West rose 
with the ♠A and continued with the ♥6. South won, played the ♠4 to the ♠10 and discarded the ♥4 and the ♣5 on 
the ♦K, ♦Q. Then came the ♣2. South lost only to the three missing aces, ten tricks, +620. 
 
If West leads ♥J, South can win and play the ♦5. West wins and proceeds with the ♥6. South wins and now West 
can win the first spade and switch to a club. East wins and cashes a heart to beat 4♠.  
 
The ♦A lead was not automatically fatal, but after that start, the counter-intuitive switch to a club is needed. East 
must duck (not too hard, since West would have led a singleton club rather than the ♦A). Now when West 
comes in with the ♠A, a second club to the ace and a club return, ruffed, beats 4♠.  
 
A low spade lead would also work. It eliminates the possible ♠10 entry before the ♦K, ♦Q are set up. 



Dealer East : North-South vulnerable 
 

 North  
 ♠ 103  
 ♥ 8752  
 ♦ KQ106  
 ♣ J82  
West  East 
♠ A876  ♠ 95 
♥ J6  ♥ Q1093 
♦ AJ943  ♦ 872 
♣ 73  ♣ A1094 
 South  
 ♠ KQJ42  
 ♥ AK4  
 ♦ 5  
 ♣ KQ65  

 
At the other table: 
 

West North East South 
  Pass 1♠ 
2♦ Pass Pass Dble(1) 
Pass Pass(2) Pass  

(1) For takeout 
(2) For penalties 
 
With those strong diamonds sitting over North, a penalty pass by North was eminently sensible. A good guide 
for low-level penalties = (a) no support for partner’s suit and (b) the Rule of 6 and 4: level of bidding (2) plus 
the number of trumps you have (4) should total 6 or more and level of bidding (here 2) plus the number of trump 
winners should be 4 or more (here 2 or 3). North’s hand thus qualifies for a penalty pass. At the other table, 
when West bid a belated 2♦, North could also have passed and played for penalties. 
 
Against 2♦ doubled, North led the ♠10: five – jack – ace. Declarer played the ♥J: two – three – king. South 
switched to the ♦5: three – ten – two. After ♣2, nine, queen, South cashed the ♠Q and shifted to the ♣5: seven – 
jack – ace. Declarer lost a spade, 2 hearts, 3 diamonds and a club, two down, North-South +300, but –8 Imps. 
Had 4♠ been defeated at the other table, it would have been +9 Imps. 
 
Problem for Tomorrow: 
 
Dealer South : Both vulnerable 
 

West North East South 
   1♣ 
1♥ Dble(1) 3♥ ? 

(1) 4 spades, 6+ points 
 
What would you do as South with: 
 
♠ A102 
♥ 8 
♦ AK94 
♣ KJ432 

 
Why not phone or email your bridge partners and compare your answers and your reasoning? 
 
I am pining for a good tree pun. Why aren’t they more poplar? 
 


