
126. Down to the wire
By Ron Klinger

Dealer West : North-South vulnerable

West North East South
Pass 1♠ 2♦ 2♥
5♦ 5♥ Pass 6♥
Pass Pass ?

What would you do now as East with:

♠ K3
♥ Q54
♦ AKQ542
♣ 94

After 35 boards in the 36-board final of Alt-Mixed II between PEPSI (Dominic Filipowicz, Andrei Gromov,
Anna Gulevich, Danuta Kazmucha, Jacek Pszczola, May Sakr) and RED SEA (Cathy Baldysz, Daniela Birman, 
David Birman, Sabina Grzejdziak, Igor Grzejdziak, Przemek Janiszewski, Matilda Poplilov Lilo Poplilov), RED 
SEA led by 84 Imps to 82.1. This was the last deal:

Dealer West : North-South vulnerable

North
♠ AJ1072
♥ A106
♦ --
♣ QJ765

West East
♠ Q864 ♠ K3
♥ 3 ♥ Q54
♦ J98763 ♦ AKQ542
♣ 103 ♣ 94

South
♠ 95
♥ KJ9872
♦ 10
♣ AK82

After the auction above, with RED SEA East-West, 6♥ was passed out. 

A spade lead would require declarer to pick the heart position. Declarer would probably cash the ♥A and 
finessed against East for the ♥Q, given West’s jump to 5♦. Still, you would like to put declarer under pressure. 
West led the ♣10 and there was no pressure on South, who won with the ♣A and cashed the ♥K. Then came the 
♥A and the clubs. South could discard the spade loser on the fifth club, no matter when East chose to ruff in. 
There was still a trump in dummy to ruff the ♦10. That was North-South, +1430 to PEPSI.

At the other table, with PEPSI East-West, it went:

West North East South
Pass 1♠ 2♦ 2♥
5♦ 6♥ Pass Pass
7♦ Pass Pass Dble
Pass Pass Pass

Declarer lost a spade, a heart and two clubs, four down, –800 but 12 Imps to PEPSI who won by 94.1-84.



Dealer West : North-South vulnerable 
 

 North  
 ♠ AJ1072  
 ♥ A106  
 ♦ --  
 ♣ QJ765  
West  East 
♠ Q864  ♠ K3 
♥ 3  ♥ Q54 
♦ J98763  ♦ AKQ542 
♣ 103  ♣ 94 
 South  
 ♠ 95  
 ♥ KJ9872  
 ♦ 10  
 ♣ AK82  

 
How did one side find the sacrifice while the other did not? When you have an excellent trump fit and you are 
clearly the weaker side, there are methods to determine whether you should defend or whether you should 
sacrifice if the opponents bid a slam. 
 
After the slam is bid, the next defender (‘in the direct seat’) doubles with two defensive tricks and passes with 0 
or 1 defensive trick. 
If partner doubles in the direct seat, you pass in the pass-out seat. If partner passes in the direct seat, then in the 
pass-out seat, you pass with two tricks, double with one trick and take the sacrifice with no defensive trick 
(since the partnership has only one trick).  After Slam Bid : Pass : Pass : Double (one trick), Pass : ?, you pass 
with one trick and sacrifice with no trick (since the partnership has only one defensive trick.) 
 
That is what happened in the second auction if East-West were using this approach: 
 

West North East South 
Pass 1♠ 2♦ 2♥ 
5♦ 6♥ Pass(1) Pass 
7♦(2) Pass Pass Dble 
Pass Pass Pass  

(1) One defensive trick 
(2) No defensive trick 
 
It is not easy for East to judge the defensive potential. Given the jump to 6♥, North is quite likely to have a 
diamond void, so count nothing for the ♦A, ♦K. The ♠K might be a trick, might not. Same for the ♥Q. You 
certainly cannot count them as two tricks. Assessing one trick in defence for East is a reasonable estimate. 
 
At the other table, it went: 
 

West North East South 
Pass 1♠ 2♦ 2♥ 
5♦ 5♥ Pass 6♥ 
Pass Pass Pass  

 
If using this method, East would have taken the hand to be worth two tricks (if using the above method). If East 
took the hand as worth one trick, it could have gone: 
 

West North East South 
Pass 1♠ 2♦ 2♥ 
5♦ 5♥ Pass 6♥ 
Pass Pass Dble(1) Pass 
7♦(2) Pass Pass Dble 
Pass Pass Pass  

(1) One defensive trick 
(2) No defensive trick 
  



Now the board would have been tied. 
 
So RED SEA lost the final by 10.1 (11) Imps. There were several opportunities to pick that up. There was a slam off 
two cashing aces bid by RED SEA while the opponents stopped in game.  RED SEA and PEPSI both bid to 4♠ off the 
first four tricks. PEPSI took their tricks via ♣A, ♣K (partner encouraged) and a third club to partner’s queen. Partner 
cashed the ♦A for one off.  
 
This is the dreaded position for those who play count: 
 

 North (dummy)  
 865  
West  East 
AK7  Q92 
 South  
 J104  

 
West leads the ♣A. Playing attitude (encourage / discourage) East plays the 9 if playing high-like or the 2 if playing 
low-like. West then continues with the king and the 7 and the defence has three tricks. After West leads the ace, if 
playing count, East plays the 2 (natural count) or the 9 (reverse count). West cannot tell whether East or South has the 
queen.  
 
RED SEA began with ♣A, ♣K but then found a fatal switch to hearts and declarer made 4♠. This is one of the 
downsides of playing count (showing how many cards you have in the suit led, without showing whether you want the 
suit continued).  
 
Then there was this problem:  
 
Dealer North : Nil vulnerable 
 

West North East South 
 2♣(1) Pass 2♦(2) 
Pass 2♠ Pass 3♦ 
Pass 3NT Pass 4♥ 
Pass Pass Pass  

(1) 5+ clubs, 11-15 points 
(2) Artificial, 5+ hearts 
 
What would you lead as West from: 
 
♠ J652 
♥ QJ1086 
♦ -- 
♣ AQ109 

 
This was another chance to pick up 10+ Imps. You are almost certain to have three trump tricks. You need one more 
to beat 4♥. You have an ace. Maybe it is a good idea to play it. Yes, declarer could be void in clubs and you might set 
up the ♣K in dummy, but there is no evidence that South is void in clubs. The great danger is that South has a 
singleton club and dummy has ♠A-K-Q and South ditches the club loser. The North-South hands: 
 
♠ AK83 
♥ 3 
♦ KQ5 
♣ K8652 
 
South 
♠ 7 
♥ AK7542 
♦ AJ873 
♣ 4 

 
Play ♣A and you beat 4♥. RED SEA West led the ♥Q. South played ♥A, ♥K, ♠A, ♠K, ditching ♣5, and made 10 
tricks, North-South +420, when East erred and pitched the ♦9 on the ♥K. Lead the ♣A and you can afford East to err. 
At the other table, RED SEA North-South were in 3NT, which is unbeatable for +400. With +400 and –420, RED 
SEA lost 1 Imp. Had West led ♣A (or East retained all five diamonds), RED SEA would be +10 Imps instead of –1 
Imp, a total swing of 11 Imps, just enough to win the match. 



Problems for Tomorrow:

1. Dealer North : Both vulnerable

North
♠ A654
♥ J9853
♦ 1043
♣ 10

West
♠ 10832
♥ 6
♦ A985
♣ 9742

West North East South
Pass 1♥ 2♣

Pass Pass 2♥ 3♣
Pass Pass Pass

West leads the ♥6: nine – ten – four. East plays the ♥Q: ♣5 – ♣7 – ♥5. What do you play to trick 3?

2. West dealer : North-South vulnerable

North
♠ AQ
♥ A10982
♦ KQ106
♣ K2

East
♠ 1095
♥ K53
♦ 5432
♣ AQ7

West North East South
Pass 1♥ Pass 1♠
Pass 3♦ Pass 3♠
Pass 4♠ All Pass

West leads the ♣J: king – ace – four. How do you continue as East?

Why not phone or email your bridge partners and compare your answers and your reasoning?

Dyslexics Have More Nuf.


