• eBulletins

Welcome to the 2017 Sydney Spring Nationals

Posted by Mike Prescott on Sunday, 8 October 2017 at 09:56



In my freshman year as Tournament Organizer, I would like to welcome all of you who are participating in the 2017 Spring Nationals. For many years this event has been under the able leadership of Marcia Scudder and I know only too well what a high standard she has set. Rest assured that I - and all of my team - will do our very best to ensure that you get the utmost enjoyment from this year's proceedings.

Enjoy and play well!




Our Chief Tournament Director is Matthew McManus.  Also directing are John McIlrath, Jeff Carberry and Ronnie Ng.

        Matthewmcmanus 500       Johnmcilrath h500        Carberry 500       

            Matthew                  John                          Jeff                        Ronnie


The Role of the Recorders

The ABF is keen to ensure events are played in the spirit of sportsmanship, and that players have an enjoyable experience at events run under the auspices of the ABF. The recorders at this event fulfil an important role in supporting this objective.  
Recorders may receive oral or written communication from players at the end of each session regarding issues that have arisen during the event relating to player ethics or behaviour. Please feel free to consult with them about any concerns you might have.  We have two Recorders at the Spring Nationals: Kim Morrison and George Finikiotis.



            Kim                         George 


BBO Broadcasts       Bbo      Abf logo

The Semi-Finals and Finals of the Open Teams and the Finals of the Women's and Seniors' Teams will be broadcast on BBO. I am grateful to the ABF, as they will pay for the staff to facilitate this.



eBulletins Bulletin

As in past years, there will be a 2017 Spring Nationals eBulletin. Anyone can contribute an article. Email Mike or see Mike to obtain a login and password. You can then use the site to write and submit articles to the Editors.  If you would prefer to write an article in Word or any other format, email it to Mike and it will be converted and published.  If pen and paper are your preference, then hand it to Mike wherever you see him.



Penline Matchpoint Pairs 

The finals of the Women's and Seniors' Teams will be held at this venue on Thursday 26th October. As a side event that day, Penline will sponsor a two session Match Point Pairs event. Come along in your finest purple (celebrating Spring and the arrival of this gorgeous flower in Sydney), play bridge and support the finalists in the Women’s & Seniors’ Teams 


 2016 Winners

Two Men & A Truck Restricted Teams

First:      T Bowmaker F Jeppesen M Young R Cowan   

Second:  M Clear P Halloran T Renaud R Bizys   

Datum winners:  Tony BOWMAKER - Fay JEPPESEN


Spring National Open Teams
First:      Liam Milne - Nye Griffiths - Andy Hung - Sartaj Hans

Second:  Avinash Kanetkar - Bruce Neill - Pauline Gumby - Warren Lazer

Datum winners:  Ashley BACH - Mike CORNELL


Dick Cummings Open Pairs
First:      Matthew THOMSON - David BEAUCHAMP

Second:  Philip MARKEY - Ben THOMPSON


Ted Chadwick Restricted Pairs
First:      Jenny DELANY - Susan LAURENSON

Second:  Denis KRISTANDA - Terry DUNNE


Spring National Novice Pairs
First:      Bevin BROOKS - Ingrid COOKE

Second:  Ken CAHILL - Paul ROACH


Linda Stern Women's Teams
First:      Alida Clark - Viv Wood - Pele Rankin - Eileen Li

Second:  Barbara Travis - Candice Ginsberg - Margaret Bourke - Sue Lusk - Marianne Bookallil - Jodi Tutty

Datum winners:  Pele RANKIN - Eileen LI


Bobby Evans Seniors' Teams
First:      Jonathan Free - Michael Smart - Robert Sebesfi - Richard Douglas

Second:  Pauline Gumby - Warren Lazer - Ian Robinson - George Kozakos

Datum winners:  Jonathan FREE - Michael SMART


Jacaranda Pairs

First:      Carolyn GREENWICH - Rhonda LANGLEY

Second:   Martin CLEAR - Phillip HALLORAN



I am very grateful to our sponsors:


  Postfree books1                                2men                       Penline small

Paul Lavings Bridgebooks                                     Two Men and a Truck                                                    Penline
      and Supplies




                Australianbridgelogo darkgreen         

                            Australian Bridge                                                            Central Coast Bridge Club



              Abf logo                             Qba h500                                Tba

         Australian Bridge Federation                    Queensland Bridge Association            Tasmanian Bridge Association





                                                                                  Tony Bemrose Insurance Brokers



Please support those who support our Tournament.