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TALES OF BAL -
PARTI

by Bronek Burza

| always enjoy playing in the NOT. Good
organization, superb venue, interesting
hands and friendly atmosphere makes
this tournament such an experience!
For me and my team mates, it often
has an additional ‘incentive’ to
participate. It gives us the opportunity
to kibitz top international bridge
champions who often play in the NOT,
especially when they come from our old
country — Poland. Then, we can ‘hang
around’, bombard them with countless
bridge problems and questions and then
use them as ‘the highest authority’ in
any bridge dispute with our own partners.

But the most interesting time occurs
every evening after the last match when
we get together for a glass of wine.
Then we can hear some of the bridge
gossip from the world bridge scene and
listen to their bridge stories that are
often funny and educational. This year
once again, one of the top world bridge
partnerships (Balicki and Zmudzinski)
is playing in the NOT. The following is
one such story.

One evening when we kept arguing
among ourselves about the merits of
claiming (after we lost 10 imps because
of a silly claim by one of our team
mates), Bal (bridge nickname of Cezary
Balicki) interrupted:

“Well, you can claim but you have to
explain how you going to play”.

Then he said, “Imagine you are playing
in the final of Spingold in USA on
Bridgerama. You are sitting South
holding & xx ¥ AQT87xx ¢ Ax & xx.
You are vulnerable against not and three
passes come to you. You decide to
open 39V and your partner raises you to
49.

(continued on page 2)

Team Name
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PRENT

BRAITHWAITE
NOBLE
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BEAUCHAMP

CARTER
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BURGAY

Team Name
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BRAITHWAITE
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ZIGGY
BURGAY

NOTRESULTS
Round of Sixteen
1-10 1-20 21-30
43 51 40
17 0 0
44 10 25
8 17 10
33 4 9
9 20 34
12 5 -
25 51 -
28 21 7
16 29 15
10 50 18
10 1 19
12 14 13
7 30 7
29 1 25
28 41 13

Quarter-Finals

1-12

21
35

33
22

13-24

34
1

31
18

18
16

25-36

43
37

40
42

32
24

31-40

42
25

37-48

48
26

43
34

44
36

20
56

Total

176
42

81
51

66
80

17
76

79
66

100
32

61
60

55
124

Total

170
81

88
110

123
129

91
168
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(continued from page1)

The lead is DJ and your partner puts on
the table: & KJxx © KJ9 ¢ xx & KJxX.
As soon as RHO played €©Q, | was able
to claim”.

“Why?”, he asks us. We kept guessing
for a while investigating the different
possibilities of end-playing the
opponents but we always found
ourselves in the position where we had
to guess the position of ace and queen
in each black suit.

“It's simple”, he said. “The
commentators on Bridgerama didn’t
know either why | successfully claimed
and between the sets | was invited to
Bridgerama to explain how | knew the
position of the honour cards in the black
suits”, he continued.

“When | claimed | said that | will draw
trumps and then play for both Aces in
the black suits to be on side. The
opponents just put their cards into the
box and | wrote +620 on my score
sheet” he said.

“But how did you know this?”, we yelled.

“Well, remember you are playing against
very strong players and RHO has shown
King, Queen of diamonds and most
likely some length in this suit. Can you
imagine that if he had any of the aces
he wouldn’t open the bidding in third
position at favourable vulnerability? Not
likely”, he explained.

Amazing how ‘little’ information real

experts need to ‘guess’ those
finesses !l

L VL VL VL QAVE VT V4

QOLD COAST
CONGRESS 2001

For those intending to play at the
Gold Coast this year, Tony
Jackman, the Convener, has
advised us that you will need to get
your entries in as early as possible.
This year there are possible size
constraints on the event and so they
may not be able to accept late
entries.

WHEN A GADGET
SHORT CIRCUITS

by Eva Hardy

Mixed Teams, Round 3, Board 3
Dealer S, Vul EW

& AJO732

“3

oK

& AKJ83
a5 » Q864
0 Q4 ©T752
O AJT43 & 875
& QT942 & 76

& KT

© AKJ986

¢ Q962

&5

As we all know any electrical appliance
which is faultily wired can cause a short
circuit and explode!

The bidding at our table went:

West North East South

19
2NT!I" X 3¢ X
All pass

(1) for Minors
Lead: VA

South cashed VAK and at trick three
played ©6 indicating a club switch. This
trick was ruffed by North with OK,
declarer throwing the singleton #5 from
the table. The #A, 8K were cashed by
North, a third club was ruffed by declarer
with the ¢7 and over-ruffed by South
with the ©¢9. The #K was led and ruffed
low on the table and the #T led. North
covered with the #J, declarer ruffing
with the ¢8 and South over-ruffing with
the ¢Q. The final result after the smoke
cleared was that the contract had failed
by four tricks and so E/W were —1100
for 12 IMPs, when 3NT made ten tricks
at the other table.

Postscript: The diamonds were really
hostile to the Allgood’s Team mates!

Editor’s comment: Eva provides a
moral to this story, which is to beware
of bidding 2NT at adverse vulnerability
with weak suits. Fair comment but
E/W were somewhat unlucky to
encounter such a hostile distribution
and there would be good support for a
2NT overcall on West’s cards,
regardless of the risk.

BID BETTER,
MUCHBETTER

By Clone Ringer
(Alias Richard Hills)

The cricket saying is “catches win
matches”. One of the reasons that the
Australian Cricket Team have been so
dominant for so long is that they
continually work on the basics, such as
having regular catching practice
sessions.

It was instructive to see the world
champion ltalian team play the New
Zealand Youth Team on vu-graph. Due
to their great experience, the Italians
out-pointed the New Zealanders in
declarer play and defence.

However, “bidding wins matches”.
Many think that this means that
adopting the right laundry list on
conventions will lead to glory. The world
champions, however, adopt a winning
bidding philosophy. They use a system
where it is easy to open light — putting
pressure on the opponents — rather than
balance later.

This world champion philosophy gained
a big swing on the following hand:

NOT, Round of Sixteen, Board 13
Dealer N, Vul All

& J4

@ KJ9

¢ Q97

& AT873
+ KQ63 & T92
Q3 VAT872
¢ J3 ¢ 852
% KQJ42 & 92

& A875

© 654

O AKT64

&6

At both tables the action commenced
with two passes. In one room the New
Zealand South also passed and then
later balanced with 20, scoring +130.
In the other room, The Italian South
opened 10 and the New Zealand West
could not be crimed for overcalling 2.
This was passed back to the Italian
South. Even though Italy had twice
passed the North cards, South
continued to bid better much better by
doubling for take-out which North
converted to penalties, and justly
earned +800.
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EXTRAUNDERTRICK?

By Richard Hills

| was kibitzing Tony Nunn in the third
segment of the Round of Sixteen
knockout matches. Board 9 was
intriguing.

Round of Sixteen, Board 29
Dealer N, Vul EW

AT2
Y AQJ642
O K4
& AJ3
& K94 A A3
© 985 VT73
OATI73 <© J82
%62 & K8754
& QJ8765
YK
¢ Q65
& QT9
West North East South
Mariani Robb Burgay Nunn
19 P 14
P 39 P 3
P 44 All pass

Kylie Robb opened 19, Tony responded
14 and Kylie jump rebid 39. Tony had
a difficult choice of rebids now. With his
hand | would have bid 49, but Tony
reasonably selected 34 instead, raised
to 44 by Kylie and all passed.

Mariani led a club, and Tony chose the
percentage line of finessing. Burgay won
the &K and returned ¢J. Mariani
considered ducking this trick to
dummy’s King, which would have
allowed Tony to throw his two remaining
diamonds on Kylie’s heart suit.

Eventually Mariani decided to grab his
OA before the mice could get at it. 44
was now certain to fail, but the play still
had to determine, “One lump or two?”

Mariani returned his remaining club won
by dummy’s Jack. Suspecting from the
opponents’ carding that West started
with a doubleton club, Tony carefully
cashed VAQ to discard his #Q. Tony
then equally carefully led the #2 (not
the Ten of trumps) from dummy.

Burgay rose with #A, and returned
another club. Tony ruffed high, and
Mariani carefully discarded his
remaining heart, reaching this position:

oT

© J642

oK

&~
& K9 a3
0 — T
O T973 ¢ 82
S & 87

& J876

Y —

¢ Q6

&~

Tony failed at the last hurdle by
impatiently leading another trump.
Mariani won the King, returned a
diamond, and the forced heart lead from
dummy completed the trump promotion.
Tony had to cash the OK first to receive
only one lump.

KIDDING FORUM

By Hilda Lirsch

On Board 5 of the Quarter-Finals,
Leandro Burgay picked up:

A AQJT763
© 62

oT

& JT8

At favourable vulnerability, RHO, Bobby
Richman, dealt and opened with a
transfer 14 (9-14, diamonds or both
minors). Burgay doubled to show an
overcall in spades. Now LHO, Stephen
Burgess, leapt to 5¢. Partner (Mariani)
tried 5#, which was passed back to
Burgess on your left, who now
advanced to 6. Stephenis at adverse
vulnerability and so must have some
hope of making the slam. Should
Burgay take what is sure to be cheap
insurance by saving in 647

While considering that question, have
alook at another high-level decision that
Colin Baker faced playing at table one
of the Mixed Teams in Match 3:

With all vulnerable, Colin Baker picked
up as dealer:

& A32
@JT

O A7

& JT9832

Colin elected to pass. LHO, Stephen
Mendick, opened 14. Now partner,
Karen Cumpstone bid a Michaels
Cuebid 2. RHO, Hashmat Ali, raised

to 34. This was passed back to Karen,
who emerged with 4¢. What should
Colin do now?

Pass, 49V and 5¢ are all reasonable
choices. Eventually Colin chose 5¢.
The complete hand:

Mixed Teams, Match 3, Board 4
Dealer W, Vul ALL

& K9765

© 932

O KQ

& AQ7
& A32 s J
@JT Y AQ8764
O A7 < J98652
& JT9832 S

& QT84

@ K5

O T43

& K654

5¢ was a lucky make, with the friendly
defensive trumps, but the single
dummy par contract is 49.

Back to Burgay’s decision. —500
instead of —1370 gains 13 IMPs.
However, Burgay also knew that a
phantom save (-500 instead of +100)
loses 12 IMPs. Given that Burgess had
been pushed into slam, Burgay judged
that the chance of the slam failing was
sufficiently high to make the save false
insurance. Burgay’s logic was duly
rewarded with +100, when the complete
hand was:

NOT, Quarter Final, Board 5
Dealer N, Vul NS

& 42

© 53

O AKJ96

& K963
& K985 A AQJT763
V KQJT74 @ 62
o7 OoT
& Q4 & JT8

o_

© A98

O Q85432

S A752

TABLE TALLY

as of Midnight 27/1/01

6759
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THE DISTINGUISHED
GQENTLEMAN

by Tim Bourke

If ever Bridge had to supply someone
to central casting for the role of a
distinguished gentleman there would be
unanimity of opinion that New Zealand’s
John Wignall would be a perfect match
for the character. He has been an urbane
administrator extraordinaire for so long,
filling many senior roles for the NZCBA
and acting as the Zone 7 representative
to the World Bridge Federation since
1986 as well as currently being its
senior vice-president. It almost
overshadows his wonderfully
successful playing career (he has been
New Zealand champion and
representative so many times that even
the Bridge Encyclopedia cannot list
them all).

In Round 12, he demonstrated that none
of his formidable technical skills as a
player had been blunted by his heavy
business and bridge-organisational
commitments:

Board 11 (Rotated for convenience)
Dealer West, Nil Vulnerable

& J94
Q 854
¢ K965
& Q82
& T8 & AKQ652
Q2 Q 763
© QJT873 o4
S AJ43 & T75
& 73
Q AKQJT9
O A2
% K96
West North East South
Scott Wignall
3¢ Pass Pass 49
All pass

West led the ¢Q and John could only
count nine tricks - six hearts, two
diamonds and a club. The tenth would
have to come from either finding a
defender with a doubleton %A or a minor-
suit squeeze against West.

John won in hand with the Ace, drew
three rounds of trumps and, to gain
more information about the distribution
of the hand, led a spade from hand.
East took dummy’s #9 with the Queen
and cashed #A before advancing #K.

John ruffed with nine of trumps and,

National Mixed Teams
Top Ten

after 6 Rounds

1st  MOIR (Moir, Haffer, Robb, Croft, Reynolds) 130
2nd PETTITT (Pettitt, Pettitt, Hutton, Hutton) 113
3rd  FOSTER (Foster, Hans, Moir, Woodhead, Griffin) 112
3rd  MARKS (Marks, Green, Rutkowski, Anderson) 112
5th  APPLETON (Appleton, Coles, Atkinson, Carter, 111
Neumann, Scott)
6th BOURKE (Bourke, Delivera, Ramshaw, Baker, 110
Cumpstone, Oshlag)
6th  KNIGHT (Knight, Woodfield, Freeman-Greene, Dravitzki) 110
8th MORRIS (Morris, Bradshaw, Bedford-Brown, Williams) 108
9th  FINIKIOTIS (Finikiotis, Chan, Chan, Coleman) 107
10th PIETERSE (Pieterse, Duxbury, Rabey, Lawford) 106

from West’s discard as well as his
opening bid, correctly calculated West's
distribution to be 2-1-6-4. Now the only
hope was that West held the &A too.

These cards remained with South to
play:

o_

Y —

O K96

% Q82
o — & 652
9 — 0 —
O JT8 o —
& AJ4 & T75

o

QJT

o2

& K96

When John played the ©J, West had
no answer. If he discarded a diamond,
dummy would throw a club. Then a
diamond to the king and a diamond ruff
would set up dummy’s ¢9 with the #Q
as an entry to enjoy it. If West threw a
club instead, dummy would throw a
diamond and John would establish a
second club trick by playing West for a
doubleton #A.

Needless to say John was quietly
chuffed by making ten tricks. Trump
development squeezes don’'t come up
every day. His BEECH teammates were
similarly satisfied as the declarer at the
other table failed to find the winning line,
all be it after a less-revealing original
pass by West, for they gained a crucial
10 imp swing.

Finally, note that a club shift by North,
instead of playing #K, would not be

good enough. John would have
prevailed by assuming that the %J and
&T were in different hands.

DAZZLED BY
DIAMONDS
OR

BEWARE OF THIEVES!
by Guess Who?

Mixed Teams, Match 2, Board 22
Dealer E, Vul ALL

& QT7
Q A86
< QT9
% QT93
& 983 & K42
© 732 < J9
O 64 O AKJ52
& J8652 & AK7
& AJB5
¥ KQT54
¢ 873
s 4
West North East South
101 1902
p3 x 304 All pass

(1) 1don’t like opening 2NT with less
than 20 HCP.

(2) Obviously!

(3) Just as obviously!

(4) Letthem play in 29? Never!!

After losing two hearts and three
spades, | had to suffer the indignity of
losing even the ¢Q and #Q!!

Editor: At least you weren’t doubled Lilli!
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